Home Page

The Beatitudes

Rev. Mark Connolly

Many of you have heard of the Beatitudes of Christ. They are eight statements reminding us of the virtues Christ taught and the way to implement those virtues.

The Beatitudes are a map of life, a series of directives helping us on our journey back to God. They are simply stated, but profound in meaning. Almost every great spiritual writer has written about the Beatitudes. Every Saint has lived the Beatitudes. They guide. They point. They teach the values of Christ. Those same values can bring us all into the Kingdom of God after our journey on this earth is over.

Blessed are the poor in spirit,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Blessed are the meek,
for they shall possess the earth.
Blessed are they who mourn,
for they shall be comforted.
Blessed are they who hunger and thirst for justice,
for they shall be satisfied.
Blessed are the merciful,
for they shall obtain mercy.
Blessed are the clean of heart,
for they shall see God.
Blessed are the peacemakers,
for they shall be called children of God.
Blessed are they who suffer persecution for justice' sake,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Home Page