Home Page

Precepts of the Church

The following are the specific duties expected of Catholics today. The first six are traditionally known as Precepts of the Church.

  1. To keep holy the day of the Lord's Resurrection: to worship God by participating in Mass every Sunday and Holy Day of Obligation.
  2. To lead a sacramental life; to receive Holy Communion frequently and the Sacrament of Penance regularly - minimally, to confess our sins at least once a year.
  3. To receive Holy Communion at least once a year between the First Sunday of Lent and Trinity Sunday.
  4. To observe the marriage laws of the Church.
  5. To strengthen and support the Church.
  6. To do penance, including abstaining from meat and fasting from food on the appointed days.
  7. To study Catholic teaching in preparation for the Sacrament of Confirmation, to be confirmed and continue to advance the cause of Christ.
  8. To join in the missionary spirit and apostolate of the Church.

Act of Contrition

O my God,
I am heartily sorry
for having offended You,
and I detest all my sins
because I dread the loss of heaven
and all the pains of hell,
but most of all
because they offend You, my God,
who are good and deserving of all my love.
I firmly resolve,
with the help of Your grace,
to confess my sins,
to do penance
and to amend my life. Amen.
Home Page